Colectivo-owners.jpgMilwaukee, WI – June 18, 2014 – Toasting their thoughtful use of space and stylish local cafés, the Greater Milwaukee Foundation honored the founders and owners of Colectivo Coffee as the 2014 recipients of its Frank Kirkpatrick Award. Lincoln Fowler, Ward Fowler and Paul Miller received recognition at the Foundation’s 99th annual meeting and civic awards presentation Wednesday, June 18, at the Wisconsin Center in Milwaukee.

Miller and the Fowler brothers’ dedication to craft and artisanship is reflected in their approach to design and development. Their efforts to reuse materials and repurpose existing buildings for their cafés have served to create unique landmarks that add value to their respective neighborhoods.

Locally owned and operated, Colectivo, its leadership and employees are active with a variety of area nonprofits to support the community’s vibrancy, particularly in the performing arts, the environment and social advocacy. Their community partners in these efforts include the Pabst, Turner Hall and Riverside Theaters; the Florentine Opera; and the Urban Ecology Center.

Since 1988, the Greater Milwaukee Foundation has been presenting the Frank Kirkpatrick Award to individuals who have brought about significant physical improvement to the community. Kirkpatrick was a prominent real estate developer and radio commentator who was passionate about Milwaukee’s development.

About the Greater Milwaukee Foundation

The Greater Milwaukee Foundation is a family of more than 1,200 individual charitable funds, each created by donors to serve the local charitable causes of their choice. Grants from these funds serve people throughout Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington counties and beyond. Started in 1915, the Foundation is one of the oldest and largest community foundations in the world.

2014 Civic Award Recipients

William C. Frye Award

Frank Kirkpatrick Award

Doug Jansson Leadership Award

For media inquiries

Please contact: Jeremy PodolskiMarketing and Communications Manager