Honorees have impacted arts, environment, health, and economic development

Milwaukee, WI - June 25, 2012 - Six of Milwaukee's most outstanding civic leaders will be honored by the Greater Milwaukee Foundation at its 97th annual meeting Wednesday, June 27, at the Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee.

William C. Frye Award

Mario and Cathy Costantini, partners in life, business and philanthropy, have improved the landscape of their own neighborhood as well as the cultural landscape of Milwaukee through programs including the Holton Youth + Family Center, Milwaukee Youth Arts Center and Danceworks Mad Hot Ballroom and Tap program.

Frank Kirkpatrick Award

Laura Bray and Ken Leinbach are infusing new energy as well as economic and environmental improvements into the Menomonee Valley over a short period of time through a joint partnership between their respective nonprofits, the Menomonee Valley Partners and Urban Ecology Center.

Doug Jansson Emerging Leadership Award

Sponsored by M&I Wealth Management, a part of BMO Financial Group

As a physician as well as president and CEO of Milwaukee Health Services, Tito Izard works to address the immediate health needs of underserved populations in Milwaukee and improve the health care disparity that exists in the central city.

Young Kim, a self-proclaimed foodie, is executive director of the Fondy Food Center. As its leader since 2003, he has worked to expand the agency's reach beyond just that of a farmer's market into offering more of a farm-to-fork continuum for the surrounding neighborhood.

The annual meeting and awards presentation is sponsored by M&I Wealth Management, a part of BMO Financial Group, PNC Bank, U.S. Bank, The Private Client Reserve of U.S. Bank and the Harley-Davidson Museum.

About the Foundation's Civic Awards

The William C. Frye and Frank Kirkpatrick awards enjoy a strong tradition of recognizing some of greater Milwaukee's most exceptional and respected civic leaders. Since 1957, the Frye Award has honored individuals for volunteer efforts that contribute to the betterment of the community. The Kirkpatrick award, which began in 1988, recognizes individuals whose efforts have brought significant physical improvement to the community.

The Doug Jansson Emerging Leadership Award recognizes local nonprofit leaders - either volunteer or staff - particularly those serving underserved communities. The award recognizes Jansson, who retired in 2010 after serving as the Foundation's president for 17 years.

About the Greater Milwaukee Foundation

The Greater Milwaukee Foundation is a family of more than 1,100 individual charitable funds, each created by donors to serve the local charitable causes of their choice. Grants from these funds serve people throughout Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington counties and beyond. Started in 1915, the Foundation is one of the oldest and largest community foundations in the world.


For media inquiries

Podolski-Jeremy-co.jpgPlease contact: Jeremy Podolski, Director of Public Relations and Editorial Strategy