Milwaukee, Wis., Nov. 9, 2015 – A special presentation of the Greater Milwaukee Foundation’s 2015 Civic Awards will honor local leaders who each have shaped the community in distinct and meaningful ways. The awards will be presented Thursday, Nov. 12, at the Foundation’s annual Lunch with the President event.

ziegler web.jpgDoug and Sharon Ziegler are deeply committed to the vitality of their West Bend community. Their generosity has provided hundreds of scholarships to local students, enabled local nonprofit agencies to flourish, and supported many capital projects that have strengthened the community. Volunteers and philanthropists, they are co-founders of the West Bend Community Foundation, a regional partner of GMF. Together, the Zieglers will receive the 2015 William C. Frye Award.

The William C. Frye Award honors those who through their volunteer work have made the region a better place. Frye was a prominent community leader who served as chairman of the Rex Chainbelt Company and the Foundation’s Board.

PattiKeatingKahn web.jpgPatti Keating Kahn of Milwaukee is a real estate developer with a passion for historic preservation coupled with sustainable design. Her downtown buildings reflect a commitment to fostering community, which Keating Kahn, CEO and owner of PK2group, further demonstrates by making modern office space affordable for local nonprofits so they can grow and thrive. She will receive the 2015 Frank Kirkpatrick Award.

Named after prominent real estate developer and radio commentator Frank Kirkpatrick, this award recognizes individuals who have brought about significant physical improvement to the community.

BavenBaker web.jpgBevan K. Baker, Commissioner of Health for the City of Milwaukee, will receive the Doug Jansson Leadership Award, sponsored by BMO Private Bank. Since 2004, Baker has led the city’s efforts to promote the health and well-being of the people of Milwaukee, advising on initiatives and partnerships related to key community health issues, including infant mortality, teen pregnancy and lead poisoning prevention.

The Doug Jansson Leadership Award was created in honor of the longtime Greater Milwaukee Foundation president. It recognizes local nonprofit leaders, especially those engaging underserved communities.

About the Greater Milwaukee Foundation

For a century, the Greater Milwaukee Foundation has helped individuals, families and organizations realize their philanthropic goals and make a difference in the community, during their lifetimes and for future generations. The Foundation consists of more than 1,200 individual charitable funds, each created by donors to serve the charitable causes of their choice. The Foundation also deploys both human and financial resources to address the most critical needs of the community and ensure the vitality of the region. Established in 1915, the Foundation was one of the first community foundations in the world. Ending 2014 with more than $841 million in assets, it is also among the largest. 

For media inquiries

Please contact: Jeremy PodolskiMarketing and Communications Manager