Greater Together Awards

This fall the Greater Milwaukee Foundation honored four community leaders through our annual civic awards program for their contributions and commitment to the greater Milwaukee community.

2023 William C. Frye Award - Ted and Mary Kellner

Honoring exceptional civic contributions to create positive change across our region

Kellners find their purpose in giving back to the community

The William C. Frye Award honors individuals who, through their volunteer work, have made Milwaukee a better place. Ted and Mary Kellner received the award for their 40-plus years of service to the area’s nonprofit sector. Read more >


2023 Frank Kirkpatrick Award – Ernesto and Olivia Villarreal

Honoring commitment to enhancing community spaces and places

Villarreals commitment to culture, community has significantly influenced Milwaukee’s south side

The Frank Kirkpatrick Award honors individuals who have brought about significant physical improvement to the community. Ernesto and Olivia Villarreal, owners of El Rey Foods, received the award for the impact their food business has had on the landscape and feel of the Clarke Square corridor. Read more >


2023 Doug Jansson Leadership Award – John Daniels III

Honoring inspirational leadership in the nonprofit sector

Daniels lives to help Milwaukee youth find their passion and purpose

The Doug Jansson Leadership Award recognizes local nonprofit leaders, particularly those serving underserved communities. John Daniels III, president and director of A.L.I.V.E.,, a youth development nonprofit in Milwaukee, received the award for his work to empower youth, particularly young Black men in Milwaukee. Read more >


2023 President’s Leadership in Racial Equity and Social Justice Award – Lupe Martinez

Honoring those who have worked to make our region welcoming and inclusive for all people, of all races, places, identities, and backgrounds.

Martinez makes it his life mission to help migrant farmworkers and other underserved communities

The President’s Leadership in Racial Equity and Social Justice Award recognizes those who have worked tirelessly to overcome the burdens of inequity and injustice to make our region truly welcoming and inclusive communities for all people, of all races, places, identities, and backgrounds. The Foundation honored Lupe Martinez with the award for his more than a century of advocacy work on behalf of migrant farmworkers in Wisconsin and across the country. Read more >

Recent Articles - Fall 2023